Mommy tummy

I have to admit something. I feel stupid now that I even thought it, but I guess I’m not the only person in the world and I wished someone prepared me for it, so it hadn’t been such a shock for me. And I don’t want you to feel stupid!! So I guess I should just come out and say it:

When I was pregnant, I really and honestly thought that my belly was so big because there were babies in there (I wasn’t wrong about that) and I thought that when the babies were out, my belly would just jump back into its old shape. Kinda like an elastic band that you pull out and then let go. Yes, I was more than a little bit wrong about that last part.

I guess it was because I didn’t really ‘have’ anything with kids before I got pregnant. I had no real connection with kids. I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to have kids myself. So I had no idea what being pregnant, giving birth and being a mom was all about. I had no idea.

I gave birth to the boys in Portugal. I had a c-section. The first day I was totally out of it, I knew where I was but that was about it. I didn’t really realize that the boys were there or even that one was taken away to be put in an incubator. The being out of it might have something to do with the fact that nobody bothered to read my file, so nobody knew I’m diabetic. They put me on a glucose drip, but did not give me any insulin. Let’s not talk about it any more, cause it always makes me angry and sad, but I’m lucky that I got out of there alive.

I had bandages around the belly area, I didn’t have that enormous belly anymore so in my head it was back to my old, before pregnancy belly. The babies were out, so it only seemed logical to me. “Can I see your belly?” my boyfriend asked. I gave him permission. I heard him kinda sucking in his breath through his teeth when he peeked under the bandages. “It looks good,” he lied. I didn’t understand. What was wrong with my belly? Was it the c-section? What was up?

I got the answer later that day when I was taking my first shower since being a mommy. The bandages came loose in the shower, so I just took them off. And I couldn’t believe my eyes. My belly was a soft, flabby, gross looking pile of skin. Loose skin. It honestly looked like my grandma’s belly. It was horrible. I was shocked. Nobody told me that you wouldn’t fit in your pre-pregnancy clothes right after the birth. Nobody told me it took time to get back into shape. I had gained 18 kilo’s (almost 40 lbs) during pregnancy and lost 13 kilos (almost 29) giving birth. The last 5 kilos (11 lbs) just went away on their own in the first week after the birth. But that did not mean my belly got into shape again. That took time. It got better after a few weeks, but it took a long long time before it was ‘as good as it got’. And yes, notice that I don’t say ‘back to what it was’ cause that hasn’t happened yet, even after 2,5 years. You never know, it might happen and I must also say that I haven’t been working out or anything, but I’m not too unhappy with my belly now. It’s pretty flat, as long as I don’t sit down ;) It took about 7 months for it to not have that flabby look anymore. Don’t worry though. It will get better, probably even faster if you’re not as lazy as I am. I’m just preparing you in case nobody else did..!! :)

32 weeks pregnant with twins! -copyright Real mommy SarahDewi-

32 weeks pregnant with twins! -copyright Real mommy SarahDewi-

 

Leave a Reply

