Trying to get it all..

Yes, I’m a little obsessed with my hair. Just because I always want to make it better. My hair on its own is very soft and flat. In Portugal my hair was actually ok ’cause of the weather. There was no need to blow dry cause it was so warm that by the time you walked from the shower to your bedroom, your hair was dry already (not really, but you did not have to wait long). My hair had more volume there, than it has here. Here it’s super flat and I HAVE to blow dry otherwise it takes so long. And if I don’t blow dry, I have no volume. If I do blow dry, my hair gets super dry, dull and I have all the tiny hairs pointing up, which just looks ridiculous.

So I decided to try everything I can think of now to see what works the best for me. To see if I can get volume, shine and style all together. So let’s give it a try..

Today I washed my hair with Garnier Triple Nutrition (the most intense nourishment yet says Garniers website) for damaged, dry hair shampoo and conditioner and did nothing put wrapping a towel loosely over it when I got out of the shower. I sprayed Guardian Angel gloss finish from Got2B in my bangs and blow dried them for about one minute with my super simple Conair blow dryer, as I did with the back of my head. I did not touch it with a brush. I let everything air dry before brushing it slightly and then used Pantene root lifter (fine hair style), according to Pantene a lightweight formula that delivers shine and lasting volume starting from the root.

I like the Garnier shampoo and conditioner, it smells good and it makes my hair feel soft and shine. However, this does not happen if I use Garnier and blow dry it, so I’m not sure how much it nourishes. I love Guardian Angel! I love the name, I love the bottle and I absolutely love that it protects my hair from the heat of the blow dryer, though I do no see the gloss finish, which is one of the reasons why I bought it. Too bad.

When my hair was completely dry I had no volume. I’m not a big hair kinda girl, BUT I do have big ears (there, I told you another one of my secrets. They used to make fun of me in school when I was in grade 6 because of my ears :( I’ve never really gotten over that (thanks a lot, mean kids) so I really DON’T want my ears sticking through my hair now. I don’t mind when they are totally out in the open when I wear my hair in a ponytail, but sticking through is just not done. I hate it. Anyway: after this little experiment with not blow drying there was no volume to be found in my hair. My ears happily stuck through though. I sprayed a little Pantene root lifter on the roots above my ears and there was definitely a lot of improvement. It was still kinda flat-ish, but my ears we not sticking through. Till 1 hour later, when they showed themselves again. Grrr..

So not the ideal way to go here.

Shine: yes! :D

Soft hair: yes! :D

Tiny hairs rising: not so much! Though still a little :(

Volume: no :(

Right after styling Copyright Real Mommy SarahDewi

1 hour after styling.. :( Copyright Real Mommy SarahDewi

Leave a Reply

