Beauty baking soda

I know, I have not been posting in FOR-E-EVER and I’m sorry. There was just a lot of stuff going on and a lot of not writing and now we’re in 2013 already. Happy New Year ;)

But I’m back now with a list of all the DIY beauty baking soda uses I could find! I LOVE baking soda, I only use it as a face scrub (so good, your skin feels so soft and does glow a little after) and as natural teeth whitener, but a little internet search showed that there is a lot more uses for it. I have not tried it all yet, but am planning too :) The tiny granules of sodium bicarbonate buff away pore-clogging dead skin cells and are gentle enough for all skin types. To make it even better, baking soda also has slightly antiseptic properties that will prevent breakouts.

Natural teeth whitener

If your teeth are yellow from drinking too much coffee and tea, you can use baking soda to whiten them naturally.  I usually add a small amount of baking soda on my usual toothpaste, mix it together and use it as a normal toothpaste. I’m convinced it does slowly make my teeth look whiter and I don’t get the super pains I get from most whitening pastes with my super sensitive teeth.

Face Scrub
Mix 3 parts of baking soda with one part of water so it becomes a thick paste. Rub it gently in circular motions on you face and rinse of with water. Soft skin and instant glow! Be careful to not get it in your eye!! It stings like hell.. I speak from experience.

Natural deodorant
I have never tried this, but I found this online. Mix a quarter teaspoon of baking soda with a quarter teaspoon of water. Apply on underarms with a cotton pad. Are you gonna give this a try?

Remove build up shampoo
Add 1/2 tsp to your regular shampoo. Shampoo, rinse and rinse one extra time. Your hair should be super clean now.

Mask against acne
Combine baking soda and water to form a thick paste. Apply to acne. Leave on for 5-10 minutes up to overnight. Rinse well.

Fresh breath
Add half a teaspoon of baking soda to a cup of water and gaggle it, for a simple natural remedy for bad breath.

Foot bath
Mix 2 teaspoons of baking soda and 1 tablespoon of salt in hot water. Soak your feet for 20 minutes. Then apply a paste of baking soda and water and to feet in a circular motion to exfoliate and soften feet.

Bath salt
Add one cup of baking soda to the bath water. Add a few drops of scented oil if wanted. Your skin will be super soft!

Dry shampoo
Simply sprinkle some baking soda on your hair and comb it through. It will absorb all the grease.

Body scrub
Make a paste of three parts baking soda, one part water and one part ground oatmeal. Rub in a gentle circular motion to exfoliate skin and remove dead skin cells. Rinse clean with warm water.

Brush cleanser
Fill your sink with lukewarm water and add in two or three tablespoons of baking soda. Soak your hairbrushes and combs in the mixture for a few minutes to remove residue. Rinse well.

Did I miss some? Tell me in the comments below!! :) Happy baking! :p

When I tried the face scrub in August – Copyright Real Mommy SarahDewi

One thought on “Beauty baking soda

  1. Pingback: Who would of thought Mom is always right it’s…Baking Soda? | Chronicles of Josie

Leave a Reply

