Amazing avocado sandwich

I don’t know what’s up with me lately, but I’m addicted to avocados. I’ve always loved them, don’t get me wrong, but lately I have to have at least once a day. For breakfast, lunch or dinner. Yum. Luckily they are super good for you (high in fat but the ‘good fat’, the same as in olive oil, which will lower cholesterol, and they are packed with folate, fibre and a little vitamin E).

Lately I’ve been making myself the best avocado sandwich. All you need is:

  • Slice of your favorite bread
  • Ripe avocado
  • Sambal
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt

Sambal is key here. Sambal is a chili-based sauce that is very popular in Indonesia, the beautiful country my mom comes from. So of course I have a natural love for this spicy sauce that you can basically put on anything. Luckily you can find it in most supermarkets.

Bahasa Indonesia: Sambal untuk ikan bakar

Toast your bread, spread a little (or a lot, but be careful: it’s HOT) sambal on it, peel your avocado and mash it on top of the sambal. A little salt (optional) and a lot (or a little, but I like lots) a lemon juice on top of it and you’re done!! It’s out of this world delicious and makes a good breakfast, lunch or snack! Simple, but amazing. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

